It’s mod, mod world {party}! – Party at my swingin’ 1960s pad

After months of looking at houses in the current, fairly impossible, Seattle housing market, we decided to put away our dreams of owning for a bit and we signed the lease on a lovely, 1928 house. My guy and I were quite excited to move in the new house as it has more space for all my vintage knick-knacks (including a space for my favorite pink chairs which he just doesn’t appreciate like I do… but we’ll get to that in another blog. haha), a yard for us to grow veggies and host parties and a garage where he can work on his beloved car. It had everything we needed… all wrapped up with vintage charm! Unfortunately, this meant that I had to leave my perfectly mid-century, 1962 apartment. Instead of spending my last couple months in the apartment totally bummed, I decided to handle the situation in typical CoriLu fashion… and plan a 1960s cocktail party!

The party not only served as a moving announcement to our beatnik friends, but also as a mod celebration of my years in the apartment… and now I’d like to share our party success with you!

1960s party_38

My friends are the best and went over the top just as I had hoped… and I finally got to wear my patriotic, flower mini dress and gogo boots that I bought from the original owner while garage sale-ing a couple of years ago!

1960s party_95

1960s party_125

1960s party_53

1960s party_67

1960s party_125

We, of course, had to have classic martinis and other 1960s cocktails.

1960s party_49

Now, if you ask me, that’s the way to celebrate a wonderful 1960s apartment!

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage-Themed Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

