The Hunt for the Perfect Vintage House

Let me start out by saying, house hunting is hard. Really hard.

I’m not trying to complain exactly, but it’s truly, really hard. With my needs, wants and, most of all, budget, it’s nearly impossible to find something that isn’t either waaaaaay out in the boondocks or in a super sketchy part of town. But hey, it’s also fun! (You know, in a stressful, time-consuming, heart-wrenching kind of way. Haha.)

There’s probably no need to even say this, but obviously I’m looking for a vintage house. I’m not super picky about the era it’s from or even the house itself, but I do feel like my soul would probably shrivel up and die if I lived in something post-1965. (That’s probably too specific and I’m sure there are exceptions, but I really, really want an old house to love!)

I can even tell you exactly where I acquired my innate need to find an old house and give it all my love. It came directly from my favorite book as a child (oh heck, it’s still my favorite book!), The Little House.

(If you haven’t read The Little House, for heaven’s sake, go read it! Makes me tear up every time I read it.)

Anyways, not only do I have this need to take care of a vintage house, I feel like vintage houses and I just understand each other. They have their quirks and they’re always unique. I guess they’re a little like me. So, I’ll continue my search for that perfect vintage house, in a perfect place, that needs my love.

Just for fun, I’ll share a couple that I have seen so far:IMG_20150121_175639IMG_20150121_233351

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vintage Find of the Day, Vintage Inspirations, Vintage Places, Vintage Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

