A Mid-Century {Desk} Love Story

I want to tell you a quick love story.

It all started while my man and I were wandering through a new-to-me Goodwill last weekend. I spotted the beautiful, golden mid-century desk from across the room. As I walked quickly towards it, I noticed its slender legs and wonderfully sized drawers.

goodwill

When we came face-to-face, my first impression was of its beautifully enameled, black and gold, concave drawer pulls.

handle

The decision to purchase was only slightly difficult as I had had a long, moving-furniture kind of week. Thursday and Friday evening had been spent loading in my lovely, new white couch and loading out my huge, dark couch to its new home.Β I was a bit tired of loading furniture like I was in the process of moving. There was lots to consider. However, for over a year I have been using a pop up table as a desk and a mid-century desk would fit wonderfully in my 1962 apartment. The finish needed a bit of love, but when I saw the price of only $15, it didn’t take long for me to realize that it was meant to be. I took it home and loaded it immediately on to my porch in order to sand it down.

Before

As I was unscrewing the handles from the face of the drawers, I noticed something I had not seen before. A key! A beautiful key with a heart-shaped center had been carefully hidden, screwed in on the back of a handle. Somebody had obviously cherished whatever the key belonged to enough to hide it so well.

key

That’s the moment that I fell completely in love. I gave it just a quick surface sand and now it is loaded with craftingΒ paper, ribbon and my laptop… and awaiting my decision on whether to stain or paint it.

sander

after

Do you have a mid-century love story of your own? Please share!

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vintage Find of the Day, Vintage Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mid-Century {Desk} Love Story

  1. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the top picture, maybe a couple of others, and an excerpt of your text at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  2. toemailer says:

    It’s posted now. Thanks so much, we really appreciate it! πŸ™‚

  3. Dianne says:

    It was difficult to find your website in google. You should create
    some hi page rank contextual backlinks in order to rank your page.

    I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best
    type of backlinks. I know very useful tool that will help you to create unique,
    readable content in minute, just search in google – laranita free
    content

Leave a Reply

