Too soon for Tiki?

I want to admit something to all of you: I may have a themed party problem. I get way too excited about planning themed parties that I actually put them on my guests’ calendars at least 3 months in advance. I would say that admitting my problem is the first step, but in all actuality, I have absolutely no intention of changing it! HAH! That being said, I may have already started planning my Summer tiki party: Cocktails at Coco’s Cabana aka Tiki 2014. (My parents called me Coco when I was a kid and the alliteration sounded more fun with Coco in it!)

It all started when, directly after Tiki 2013, I got my maxi length 1960’s tiki dress for Tiki 2014. (It’s so cute, I can’t wait to show you! It has a ruffle!) Then a few months ago, while visiting my grandma in San Diego, I may have absconded away with some tiki jewelry from my grandma’s collection. A couple of months later, I bought a pack of tiki-inspired, hula girl napkins. At the beginning of May, I bought new tiki flowers for my hair that will match the colors of my new tiki dress. While vintage shopping with my mom on Mother’s Day, I bought a vintage, wooden bowl in the shape of a pineapple. Last Saturday, I bought my man a tiki shirt while we were out thrifting. (It’s perfect. It has fast looking cars and cocktails on it!) And then, I simply couldn’t take it anymore… I had to officially plan the party.

It’s now scheduled, just where it ought to be, at the beginning of August. My themed-party-people are already planning their costumes because, well, they are just as nutty and excited as I am. Yes, it’s true, I may have gotten a little overzealous, but now I can spend the next 71 days looking for one of these for my Tiki 2014 photobooth:

Just in case you’re wondering, we have several themed-parties planned between now and Tiki 2014. Including, but not limited to: Cherry Harvest Party (when my friend’s cherry tree is ripe and ready to harvest), a Victorian Tea Party (to celebrate another friend’s porch on a new house), a French party (because we need an excuse to dress up and have Absinthe and wine) and probably lots of mini porch parties and BBQs in between. Do you have any awesome themed parties planned?

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage Cocktails, Vintage-Themed Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

