Holiday Blue Velvet

Every Thanksgiving, I volunteer at a Festival of Trees by decorating a themed Christmas tree that then gets auctioned off at a gala and raises money for a hospital foundation. Every year, during the decoration day, you choose your theme for the next year and put in your paperwork for it to claim your theme. Since Thanksgiving is coming around and it’ll soon be time to choose my 2014 theme, I’ve been thinking a lot about different ways to use color at Christmas time. (I’ve already chosen my theme for next year, but I can’t share until I claim it…. because it’s simply brilliant and I don’t want anyone to steal the idea out from under me! πŸ™‚ Because it does have a certain vintage flair, I’ll post about it once I have it securely claimed. Promise.)

Now, being the traditionalist that I am, I’m a die hard fan of the standard tones of greens and reds. BUT, I also love to play with different colors around the holidays. There are just so many options! This, combined with a gorgeous new cobalt blue velvet and silver lamΓ© vintage dress that I recently put up at CoriLuVintage, led me to designing a little inspiration piece to show off how you can play with colors for your holiday party outfits, while still capturing that vintage, holiday class.

I invite you to be inspired.

Fancy Blue
All pieces available at CoriLuVintage.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage Inspirations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

