Granny’s Cafe: Roadtrip Worthy

I’d like to introduce you to a little place on the Olympic Peninsula called Granny’s Cafe. This adorable, vintage cafe is located on Highway 101 between Port Angeles and Lake Crescent and it’s worth every mile to go there for just a lick of their soft serve ice cream.

Grannys

The hotel was built in 1956 and the cafe was added later; originally as a walk-up hot dog stand for the local loggers and fishermen. Stepping inside is like a wonderful step back in time. (I was going to dress the part for this cafe photoshoot, but a 1950’s dress didn’t fit into my camping bag quite so well. Next time!)

Vintage decor and good home cookin’ are the way to go for me! You can sit inside for a good breakfast, lunch or dinner… or just swing by the ice cream window out-front for a big cone of the yummiest soft-serve ice cream you’ll ever eat. (Seriously, I’ve never had any soft serve better than theirs…. and I LOVE ice cream!) I would personally suggest doing both as everything I’ve had there has been just perfect.

My ever favorite: Sweet Potato Fries

Salad

Amazing chili

Step outside the back door while you’re there and say hello to their chickens, goats, cute donkey and, one of my favorites, the kitty with paws that look just like mittens.

Mitten Kitty

If you’re headed out to the Olympic Peninsula any time soon, make sure and save a few minutes to at least walk up to the ice cream window on your way by. Here is Granny’s amazing soft serve:

Granny's amazing soft serve

Oh, and tell them where you heard about them… just maybe I’ll get treated to an extra squeeze of ice cream next time I go.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vintage Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

