Moscow Mule: A Vintage Cocktail

As you make your weekend plans for a weekend full of sunshine, I figure you’re also going to need a refreshing cocktail recipe; especially one that’s so super simple to make! If this is all true, the Moscow Mule is for you! (Even if it isn’t true, you should most definitely try one!)

Although this cocktail was invented in the 1940’s and popular during the 1950’s and therefore right up the alley with my other vintage cocktails, I actually made this cocktail as a homage to the last few years when I lived in Moscow, Idaho while I was finishing my degree. I found the recipe sideways on the label of a Cock N Bull Ginger Beer that I bought one day. I happen to love ginger and pretty much any cocktail that has ginger in it so when I saw that there was a cocktail recipe using the ginger beer and that it was named Moscow Mule, I just had to try it. Boy, am I glad that I did too! It was so good that I decided to make it again when my friend Valerie from Smile Mercantile (check out her lovely shop!) was visiting me the other day (to play vintage dress up, no less!) and document the recipe and making for you! (I swear that’s why I’m making two of them in the picture!) Here’s the recipe version that I did:

Moscow Mule
2 oz Vodka
1/2 oz Lime Juice
1 Bottle of Ginger Beer
Lime Wedge for garnish
(I ran out of lime just before so there was no garnish for us!)

How to:
Fill tall glass with ice
Add vodka and lime juice
Fill with ginger beer
Garnish

So very simple and so very tasty. Being that it’s ginger beer, it’s easy on the tummy and very refreshing. The lime gives is a certain kick and of course the vodka mixes well. Overall, a new favorite to add to my cocktail repertoire and one that I would highly suggest trying sometime.

Image

Only 3 ingredients and you have a refreshing cocktail!

Extra note: I read a variation online that said some people substitute Jรคgermeister instead of vodka and call it a Mule Meister. Being that I love Jรคgermeister, but normally don’t drink it mixed into cocktails, I figured I better try it. It was pretty good. I wouldn’t say that I love it as much as a Moscow Mule, but I also wouldn’t say that I wouldn’t drink it again. It took a few sips to get used to the Jรคgermeister and ginger beer combination, but I liked it eventually. It’s something fun to try if you’d like a variation.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage Cocktails and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

