1940’s: Inspired

At the beginning of the weekend, a good friend of mine (and new model for CoriLuVintage!) Ashley messaged me and told me about a contest happening at Shabby Apple that she thought I might be interested in. The design contest was to design a 1940’s inspired dress, skirt or blouse… so of course I was! There is lots to it, but basically the design that gets picked in the end will be made and sold on their website. Exciting!

You may not know this about me yet, but 1940’s style is one of my very favorites. Those styles were just meant to fit me! The shoulders, the waists, the feminine curves, the details… sigh. It took me all weekend to think about it, but eventually I sat down and drew several sketches in my sketch book; all of dresses because that was already too much to think about. When it came time to do the entry and I had narrowed it down to two, naturally I couldn’t choose between them. I messaged Shabby Apple on their Facebook page and they graciously said that more than one entry was okay! I thought you might want to see my design entries:

Image

Inspired by vintage nautical wear and the striped suit from “His Girl Friday”

Image

Inspired by the femininity of 1940’s clothing and how lovely it makes me feel

The top three will be posted on their Facebook July 25, 2013 and you can bet your buttons that when mine makes it to the top, you’ll be notified to vote!

The weekend with the 1940’s on the brain inspired my outfit for today. It included a relatively modern and yet 1940’s-styled frock with a pair of velour, sling back, peep toe 1940’s heels in a lovely burgundy. A friend gave me these shoes when they no longer fit her and this was the first time I wore them. Normally burgundy just isn’t my color, but I found the perfect dress in my closet to match them!

Image

Peep toes!

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

