Vintage Find of the Day: 1940’s Green Felt Hat

One thing I like to do after spending the day out in search of vintage treasures, is pick a favorite find of the day. Many times, or at least on really good days, this is a very hard task to do. Today, after such an amazing morning at an estate sale, this is definitely a difficult task. After much reasoning (and by reasoning, I mean me wishing to be a 1940’s movie star more than anything), I decided on this hat:

Meet Find of the Day : July 6th, 2013

Meet Find of the Day : July 6th, 2013

I swoon for bows

I swoon for bows

Dolly Madison Originals

Dolly Madison Originals

Mostly this hat was chosen as the vintage find of the day (and definitely a new addition to my personal collection) because I can imagineΒ Rosalind Russel wearing this beauty in His Girl Friday and possibly Ingrid Bergman wearing it if only it had been winter in Casablanca. (Side note: both of those movies are a MUST see. Seriously, if you haven’t seen them yet, go watch them now. NOW!) It may be a bit silly to wish to be a 1940’s actress, but it’s one of my completely unrealistic dreams that I prefer to hold onto. Just look at the fashion:

Just look at that hat on the right!

Just look at that hat on the right!

How could you not dream of this? Because I daydream of this life consistently, there’s my find of the day.

Ad lovingly borrowed from Vintage Style Files.Β 
About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage Find of the Day, Vintage Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vintage Find of the Day: 1940’s Green Felt Hat

  1. That hat is awesome. Do you have the 40s dress to match? Speaking of, some people I know are trying to get me to be a pin up model. Then modeling school would actually amount to something. Tehe

Leave a Reply

