And Don’t Call Me Shirley

Now I’m not sure how many of you got the reference in the title of this blog, but I’m going to just assume all of you awesome vintage fans have seen Airplane! and that I don’t have to explain it. (If you haven’t seen it though, fix that!) That is not at all what this blog is about, but I’d like to tell you about another vintage-y (that’s not a real word, but I use it enough in every day conversation, that I think it should be) place that’s worth visiting in Port Angeles; Shirley’s Cafe.

Shirley's Cafe... Memorabilia Museum

Shirley’s Cafe… Memorabilia Museum

I chose to feature Shirley’s directly after Northwest Fudge because I figured we would stick on the railroad tracks for a weekend in Port Angeles.

Speedy little choo-choo

Speedy little choo-choo

Now let’s get down to the nitty-gritty. Shirley’s is what I would call… delightfully tacky. It’s an old-fashioned, diner style cafe where you can get all the normal breakfast and lunch diner-style foods. They have probably had the same menu for years and years, but they do it well. It’s not gourmet, but they certainly make a good plate of biscuits and gravy with a side of hot coffee.

gravy

Biscuits and gravy: almost gone before I even took a picture!

The cafe is right on Lincoln Street in the middle of town and I love to go there when I’m in town for a visit. It’s just one of those easy places for a good breakfast to start out the day.

Have a seat in the corner

Have a seat in the corner

Staying current on politics...

Staying current on politics…

The prices and food are good, the ceiling is covered in random license plates and there are photos of presidents that aren’t even slightly current at all on the wall. It’s basically everything you could want in an old diner cafe, so stop by next time you’re in town and are looking for something homey and from quite another place and time.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Vintage Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

