Something New & Something Sweet

An idea has been on my mind a lot lately of something that I’d really like to do with the CoriLuVintage blog here, so bear with me as we try something new! One of my very favorite things to do is explore new places; especially ones that are truly vintage or at least have certain vintage appeal. So, I’d like to use this blog also as a place that I can share and recommend these new places that I find (and places that I already know and love) to everyone reading. My idea is that this will include vintage shops, vintage-style lounges, actually vintage places and whatever else I find that I fall in love with so much that I feel the need to talk about it.

So I thought I’d give it a try and start with a place that I already know and love, Northwest Fudge & Confections. This is an old fashioned candy store in Port Angeles, WA (but don’t worry, they sell online as well for those of you who can’t visit the Olympic Peninsula right away!). Now, if you look closely at the information between the Northwest Fudge Facebook page, Etsy shop and website, you’ll probably come across the owners’ last name somewhere and realize that it’s the same as mine, so I’ll just come right out and tell you, they’re my parents! (Told you I was going to start with something easy and well-known to me!)

Here’s the quick run down: Northwest Fudge sell homemade, old-fashioned, cream and butter fudge (our most popular item!), handmade chocolates, salt water taffy, every kind of Jelly Belly made, gummies, hard candies, panned chocolates, truffles, licorice from around the world and over 700 other candies. (Drooling yet?) So basically, I just want to say that if you’re heading over to Port Angeles (or even if you’re not, perhaps you should plan a trip? I have lots of suggestions for the area), this candy store is unlike any candy store around. Make sure and stop by! People constantly tell us that they’ve never seen anything like it and that they love the old-fashioned feel of the place. You don’t have to take my word for it, let me take you on a mini tour:

IMG_2061

IMG_2050

Old Fashioned Candy Sticks

IMG_2059

Salt water taffy… in oh so many flavors!

IMG_2071

IMG_2077

Jar after jar of gummi goodness….

IMG_2084

IMG_2087

Remember candy dots?

IMG_2089

The painting across the entire back wall. (Yep, that’s my dad driving the Candy Express!)

IMG_2096

This train has traveled many miles around the top of the store and delights young and old alike.

IMG_2103

The view from above…

IMG_2123

A Northwest Float!

IMG_2131

So that’s my recommendation for the day. I hope you like this new idea because I have a lot more places that I want to feature; including another Olympic Peninsula one for tomorrow!

For more information on the Northwest Fudge, like them on Facebook or check out their website.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

