Vintage at Work

Let me tell you a little about my 9-5 job. Not because I want to brag (although I do love to brag about it just a little…), but because I have found a tiny (and simple) way to take just a bit of vintage with me to work.

Here’s the back story: We moved our entire office a couple months to a brand new space on a brand new floor with brand new… well everything. Our old spaces were…old. They were dingy, faded and not at all the spaces we needed. That being said, there were some lovely vintage and antique furniture pieces around that I just loved. (Some of those very pieces are now fixtures on porch, but I’m sure we’ll talk about that later!) For the most part though, they were very large and very heavy desks that unfortunately just weren’t practical at all anymore. So, we got new things. Lots of new things. So many shiny new things that I honestly couldn’t help myself and just had to find a way to mix in at least one little vintage piece into my creative space at work. And I did!

Located right down on the waterfront in Seattle, is this fun and funky antique store called Seattle Antiques Market that I just love to browse through when I have the time to wander. (If I really hurry, I could even make it down there for a quick browse on a lunch break!) One day while perusing with my mom, I found a big box of old movie theatre sign letters and numbers and jumped right in. I decided that it would be just the thing for my desk and I laid out several different versions of my name. I came up with a version of my name, stuck it up (with clear double-stick dots) on the frosted glass of my cubicle a couple weeks after we moved and it’s been there ever since.

Image

It pleases me to no end that I have just a little spunky vintage right on my desk to inspire me and I’m even more pleased that everyone in the office (so far) has liked it as well.

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage at Work

  1. Fun vintage find! Love seeing personalized work spaces.

    • CoriLu says:

      We were allowed to personalize our spaces at work and I really just can’t help myself. I have to have some of me in my creative space. The really nice part is that you can spell out your whole name, do just your initials or even just spell out a nice word like “inspire”. It’s really up to you!

      ps. I actually have a collection of letters like this in my stock for the shop that are going up someday soon, so let me know if you’d like some letters before they hit the shop! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

