Sin & Gin: A Vintage Cocktail

In my honest opinion, I think that making vintage cocktails is a huge part of living the vintage lifestyle. Now to be perfectly clear, that doesn’t mean going out crazy with drinks, that simply means perfecting wonderful cocktail recipes and then sipping cocktails looking fabulously vintage! Now that that little disclaimer is out of the way, let’s get mixing!

Today I flipped through a great vintage-style cocktail book that I have called Highballs High Heels: A Girl’s Guide to the Art of Cocktails (look it up, it’s an adorable cocktail book!) and picked out a cocktail recipe that I’ve never tried before, a Sin & Gin. I compared the book’s recipe with different recipes I found online and they all seemed just about the same, so here goes:

Sin & Gin:
1.5 oz gin
1 oz lemon juice
1 oz orange juice
dash of grenadine

Mix all the ingredients in a shaker with some ice, shake and strain into a stemmed glass.

I was raised to believe that recipes were less like rules and more like guidelines. Substitutions are more than okay in my mom’s recipe book and that’s how I learned to make things too. I didn’t have any orange juice when I decided to make the cocktail, so I went with an orange tangerine citrus mix I had. It mostly tastes the same, but I figured I should mention it because it effects the color of the cocktail a bit as the juice mix is darker orange in color. Although no recipe seemed to mention a garnish, I believe every cocktail deserves one. It’s like adding accessories to perfect an outfit! So I added a maraschino cherry to the bottom of the glass.

If you’d like something summery and fresh, this cocktail is it! It’s tasty, but definitely a bit sour. As Highballs High Heels: A Girl’s Guide to the Art of Cocktails says “All traces of shy, retiring, wilting violet vanish in the citrus bite of a drink that’s been around since women wore pillbox hats, pedal-pushers, and patent-leather pumps.” As is true with any cocktail, the taste can easily be changed by simply differing the ingredient amounts. If you like a sweeter drink, raise the proportion of orange and lower the lemon juice. Easy as that and you have a nice summer cocktail!

A vintage cocktail for the Summer!

A vintage cocktail for the Summer!

About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

