Two Birds with One Estate Sale

This morning my friend and I set out for estate sales early, just like we do pretty much every week now with a list of places in hand. On the way to the first estate sale, we actually happened across an unknown estate sale (the very best kind!) roughly 3 minutes before they opened the doors. Lucky! We were number 11 and 12 in line, but we snuck our way into the first group let inside and most definitely scored.

One perk of being 4’10” is that I can fit in tons of petite vintage clothing. There aren’t very many, but at least I can be proud of that one! Today was one of those days because the lady who lived in this house was definitely a tiny, me-size. Great for me, not so great for my friends looking for new things at CoriLuVintage. (Don’t worry though, I have TONS of new things to photograph and add to the shop and I’m doing it as fast as I can!)

The two birds part comes in to play with possibly the first thing I grabbed when I walked in the sale. I not only solved the problem of what to wear for the 4th of July, I also solved the problem of what shirt to wear with my mom’s 1970’s sailor capris! You already know about the first problem and the second problem doesn’t seem like it should be such a big deal, but friends (I tell you what!) it’s just not that simple. They are high waisted and therefore a shirt worn with them either needs to be a crop top or something that will tuck in. You can’t just wear a crop top anywhere and anytime, so the tuck-in version seems more practical. That seems like a great idea until you realize that the capris are entirely too see-thru and therefore you see a shirt line across your tuckus no matter what. Trust me, I have this fight with the capris every summer and I even called my mom the other day to ask her what she used to wear with them. She said that maybe it wasn’t nearly as difficult in the 70’s because of all the leotard tops that were around then. Unfortunately, those aren’t very easy to find now and so the pants were hung back up in the closet. Now this is no longer a problem! I found a tied crop top that is lower that a bra style crop (much more practical) and it’s red and white stripes which is perfect for the 4th!

Image

Image
A close up of the adorable anchor/sailor buttons
About CoriLu

I am a graphic designer for advertising and marketing, painter, artist and collector of anything vintage. I am also very passionate about travel, historic preservation, and just about anything sparkly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Birds with One Estate Sale

  1. Oh my gosh I know what you mean! I love high waist skirts, shorts, and paints but when its fitted and you tuck GOD. You get those awful lumps and it just doesn’t work. Great job finding the perfect top. PS. I’m tiny too and fit 1940s dresses better than anything the mall sells.

Leave a Reply

